Formulation Conference Sofia

16 - 18 June 2025
Abstract opening:
1 Nov 2024
Abstract deadline:
1 Feb 2025
Early registration:
1 May 2025

Plenary speakers

Anne-Laure Fameau

Dr. Anne-Laure Fameau studied Food Science before coming to soft matter during her thesis. She received her Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from the University of Nantes in 2011. During her Ph.D, she worked at the Laboratory Léon Brillouin at CEA Saclay (French Neutron Center) as well as the French National Institute of Agricultural & Environment Research (INRAE) in Nantes. At the end of 2011, she obtained a permanent staff position at INRAE in Nantes. In 2015, she joined L’Oréal company in the Physical-Chemistry Department (Paris). In 2018, she received the European Young Lipid Scientist Award and the Langmuir Prize at ECIS Conference. In 2021, she received the AOCS Young Scientist award. She came back to academia at INRAE at the end of 2021.
Her research interests are in the field of responsive soft materials based on lipids and green surfactants with a particular emphasis on foams, emulsions and interfaces. Her research is focused on the development of these systems and their detailed structural characterization using scattering techniques such as SAXS and SANS.
All of her work in academia resulted in 36 scientific papers, 12 review articles, 5 book chapters, and 19 patents.
Dr. Fameau also enjoys transmitting her passion for science to young students. She visited many schools and gave scientific talks to students to promote science in France, and especially to promote science for girls.

Dganit Danino

Prof. Dganit Danino earned her B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. in chemical engineering at the Technion and in 2002, following post-doctoral work at NIH in the U.S. she returned to the Technion as a senior member of the Faculty of Biotechnology and Food Engineering. Prof. Danino is an expert in electron microscopy at low temperatures (Cryo-EM) engaged in both the development, use and education of Cryo-EM methodologies. Her research is focused on mechanisms of self-assembly of soft materials and 1D structures, the development of delivery vehicles, milk proteins and structure-function of membrane shaping proteins and large GTPases. She published more than 170 papers and book chapters. Dganit was a visiting scholar at the Physics Department Harvard University, the Koch Institute MIT, and the KAVIL Institute for Theoretical Physics University of California Santa Barbara. She was the president of the Israel Society for Microscopy (ISM) between 2009 and 2013, and the President of the European Colloid and Interface Society (ECIS) in the years 2019-2021, and she is a Co-Editor-in-Chief in Current Opinion in Colloids and Interface Science (COCIS), and an Editor in Colloids and Surfaces B: Biointerfaces.

Krassimir Velikov

Prof. Krassimir P. Velikov (1970) studied chemistry at the University of Sofia, earning M.Sc. degrees in Chemical Physics and Theoretical Chemistry in 1994 and in Chemical Engineering in 1997. He conducted research at the Centre de Recherche Paul-Pascal/CNRS in France with Prof. Dr. B. Pouligny and served as a Research Associate at the University of Sofia. In 1998, he began his Ph.D. on colloidal particles under Prof. Dr. Alfons van Blaaderen at AMOLF and Utrecht University, completing it in 2002, followed by a postdoctoral fellowship at Utrecht.

Since October 2002, prof. Velikov has worked at Unilever R&D in Vlaardingen, the Netherlands, currently as Team Leader and Science Leader in Colloidal Dispersions and Nanoscale Structuring. He holds part-time positions at Utrecht University since 2009 and North Carolina State University since 2010. Additionally, he has been a program director at NanoNextNL since 2011. His research focuses on soft-condensed matter, colloidal dispersions, nanoscale structuring, colloidal self-assembly, and the application of colloids in enhancing stability, appearance, texture, taste, and bioavailability of bioactives, as well as the physical-chemistry of digestion and delivery of functional ingredients.

Thomas Rades

Professor Thomas Rades is Head of Research at the University of Copenhagen since 2012 and a distinguished researcher in pharmaceutical sciences, with a focus on drug formulation and nanoparticle-based vaccine delivery systems. He has made significant contributions to the field, having authored over 500 papers in prestigious journals (20000+ citations, h-index = 75), along with book chapters, patents, and a book on formulation science. Professor Rades holds editorial positions at key journals including the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences. He has supervised more than 75 PhD students and has received awards for his expertise in undergraduate and postgraduate teaching activities. Professor Rades’ interdisciplinary approach integrates physical, chemical, and biological sciences to drive advancements in pharmaceutical formulation and delivery systems.

Keynote speakers

Anette Mullertz

Professor Anette Mullertz is a distinguished researcher in pharmaceutics and lipid-based formulations. She currently serves as the Director of The Bioneer-FARMA Center at the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences (FARMA), University of Copenhagen, Denmark, a position she has held since 2007. Her primary research areas include drug delivery of small molecules, innovative pharmaceutical formulations focusing on lipid-based systems, and the impact of excipients on drug solubility and dissolution mechanisms. With over 250 research papers published and more than 10,000 citations (h-index = 56), Professor Mullertz has made significant contributions to the field of pharmaceutics, particularly in optimizing drug formulations for enhanced solubility and absorption. Her research findings have had a profound impact on advancing pharmaceutical science and improving drug formulation strategies.

Ryan Donnelly

Professor Ryan Donnelly holds the Chair in Pharmaceutical Technology at the School of Pharmacy, Queen’s University Belfast, where he is Director of Research. A registered pharmacist, his research is centred on design and characterisation of advanced polymeric drug delivery systems for transdermal and intradermal drug delivery, with a strong emphasis on improving patient outcomes. He is currently developing a range of novel microneedle technologies through independent research, but also in collaboration with several major pharmaceutical companies. His work has attracted more than £30 million in funding and he has authored over 1000 peer-reviewed publications, including 11 patent applications, 7 textbooks, 28 book chapters and approximately 360 full papers. He leads a personal research group of approximately 50 people from 15 different countries and has been an invited speaker at numerous national and international conferences. Professor Donnelly is Europe/Africa Editor of Drug Delivery & Translational Research. He has previously won the International Association for Pharmaceutical Technology (APV) Research Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Pharmaceutical Sciences (2024), the Kydonieus Foundation Transdermal Delivery Award (2024), the European Journal of Pharmaceutics & Biopharmaceutics Most Cited Paper Award (2023), Visit Belfast’s Ambassador Award for Life & Health Sciences (2022), the Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences Innovative Science Award (2020), Evonik’s Resomer Award (2018), the Controlled Release Society’s Young Investigator Award (2016), BBSRC Innovator of the Year (2013), the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists Pharmaceutical Research Meritorious Manuscript Award (2013 & 2022), the GSK Emerging Scientist Award (2012), the Royal Pharmaceutical Society’s Science Award (2011) and the Pharmaceutical Society of Northern Ireland’s Gold Medal (1999).

More speakers to be announced soon